Friday, March 13, 2009

Olympus E510 Review

I'll post my opinion about my first dSLR. I am NO professional or expert in any way, but i'll post my thoughts on the camera as a beginner and from what I know. I hope to be as unbiased as possible, and you can tell that I'm not a hardcore Olympus user because I also own a Nikon system (I also owned a Canon 350D XT, but sold because I didn't want to get into too many systems) I'm still exploring with cameras, but for the most part, the Olympus is a GREAT starter camera. They now have a newer version of my E510, which is the E520. basically the same camera, but with slightly bigger LCD screen and wireless flash capabilities.

Anyways, you should read this if you're considering your first dSLR. Olympus is a heavily underestimated dSLR maker i feel. Their quality is pretty high up there, and the camera feels like a brink without weighing like one. It is rather lightweight, but to the point that it still feels well weighted in your hands. I have small hand, and it still feels perfect, not too big. for my friends who have bigger hands, they say the camera is A LOT lighter then theirs, but still feels great in their hands.

As for usability, I think it's the easiest transition from point and shoot to dSLR (at least for me... I adapt pretty quick with electronics) I found using the camera in auto while changing different settings myself made the transition into the dSLR world VERY easy. I think nikon and canon have the same feature (program). The layout of the Olympus however, makes transition into SLR photography very easy, and is pretty much self-explanatory (although i would still recommend reading the camera's manual to make full use of the camera)

I think the main reasons why i still keep my Olympus around is because they have the best sensor Dust Reduction system, which is good for switching between kit lenses or any other lenses you have without worrying about the digital slr problem of getting dust on your sensor. Another reason is the claimed fastest Auto Focusing time of all the SLR manufacturers. Yet another reason that i like my olympus is because of the in-camera Image Stabilization. This is good in two ways. First, it allows Olympus to create lenses cheaper because they don't have to integrate "Vibration Reduction" into their lenses like Nikon or HSM like Canon. Secondly, It allows me to use old film lenses (with adaptors or just mod the lenses themselves) and still have a blur free image. I tend to love old lenses from the film era because they add a certain charm and characteristic to pictures.

I think the only complaint I really have with the E510 (and for all of Olympus' dSLR's) is their tiny sensors. This means more noise in all ISO levels then any other other dSLR. The 2x crop ratio can play both ways, both good and bad. Good news first, you get more zoom for you money =] (100mm rated lens becomes 200mm). Bad news, your 14-42mm kit lens does not work as 14-42, but 28-84mm. To get to fish eye status, you need a 4.5mm to 8mm lens!

Actually, another thing that annoyed me was the dark. When you use the flash to Auto Focus, it flashes SEVERAL times, so it annoys the crap out of anyone else in the dark room, and will cause people to see a light spot in the middle of their eyes for a few seconds. I have no idea if there is an option to get rid of that, and if anyone knows, PLEASE let me know. I also have no experience with the E510 with an external flash, but once I do, I will post an update.

Another point to consider is whether you think you will go professional, or you are really going to get into SLR photography just as a hobby (meaning not making ANY money off of it, or plan to) If you chose the latter, good for you, Olympus will work wonders for you, and allow you to have fun for years on end until the camera stops working. On the other hand, if you picked the former, ten you will want to consider getting bigger name brands like Nikon, Canon, or even Sony because there is room for expansion, and they offer the FF option, which means no crop ratio, and 10mm lens MEANS you will be using the full 10mm wide angle view.

Any other questions that you may have about the Olympus cameras or 4/3 lens system, feel free to comment or email me. SNAP ON!

Also, if you see anything in the ads on the side that interests you, please click on it as a form of thanking me, and so i can get donations without you having to pay me xD

0 remarks:

Post a Comment